Best Functional Testing Software in 2026

In short: Maestro is ranked #1 of 38 as of 4 October 2026, ahead of TestCafe and testRigor. The best-ranked option with a free plan is TestCafe. The lowest first paid tier on this page is TestCafe at $20/mo.

Checking software behavior across the applications people use calls for attention to both coverage and how tests are created and run. Compared on authoring mode, web, mobile, and desktop app coverage, and cross-browser support, these options also include details on parallel runs and self-hosted availability. Maestro, testRigor, and Cypress are among the entries. Consider the application types and browsers your tests need to address, then compare the authoring options and whether parallel execution or a self-hosted setup matters for your environment. Free-plan availability and paid-from pricing provide additional context when weighing the tools against your testing requirements.

38 functional testing software ranked on what their makers publish — plans and prices, free tiers, platforms and the facts on their own pages.

38ranked
11free plans on this page
$20/molowest paid tier
4 Oct 2026last checked
Input list Functional Testing Software 25 channels on this page · 47 of 200 spec lines stated by the makers
Ch Tool Free planPaid fromAuthoring modeWeb app coverageMobile app coverageDesktop app coverageParallel runsSelf-hosted option Spec sheet Score
01 Maestro Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modeno codeWeb app coverageYesMobile app coverageYesDesktop app coverageNoParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionYes 6/8spec lines stated 8.2
02 TestCafe Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 8.2
03 testRigor Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 8.2
04 Cypress Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.8
05 Squish Free planNoPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modecodeWeb app coverageYesMobile app coverageYesDesktop app coverageYesParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionYes 6/8spec lines stated 7.7
06 WebdriverIO Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.7
07 ACCELQ Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.6
08 Keysight Eggplant Test Free planNoPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.5
09 Nightwatch Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.5
10 BugBug Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runs1 parallel runsSelf-hosted optionnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 7.3
11 Selenium Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.3
12 Playwright Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.2
13 Robot Framework Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modelow codeWeb app coverageYesMobile app coverageYesDesktop app coverageYesParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionYes 6/8spec lines stated 7.1
14 TestGrid Free planNoPaid from199/user/moAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 7.1
15 Functionize Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runs5 parallel runsSelf-hosted optionnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 7.0
16 Avo Assure Free planNoPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.9
17 ReadyAPI Free planNoPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runs3 parallel runsSelf-hosted optionnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 6.5
18 Testlio Free plannot statedPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coverageYesMobile app coverageYesDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 6.2
19 Virtuoso Free planNoPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.2
20 uTest Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coverageYesMobile app coverageYesDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 3/8spec lines stated 6.1
21 Ghost Inspector Free planNoPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.0
22 Tricentis Testim Free plannot statedPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 0/8spec lines stated 6.0
23 BrowserStack AutomateBrowserStack Free planNoPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runs1 parallel runsSelf-hosted optionnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 5.9
24 Detox Free planYesPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 5.9
25 Katalon Studio Free planNoPaid fromnot statedAuthoring modenot statedWeb app coveragenot statedMobile app coveragenot statedDesktop app coveragenot statedParallel runsnot statedSelf-hosted optionnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 5.9
Compare all 25 in a table
#ToolScoreFree planFromFree planPaid fromAuthoring modeWeb app coverage
1Maestro8.2Free plan$250/moYes—no_codeYes
2TestCafe8.2Free plan$20/moYes———
3testRigor8.2Free plan$300/moYes———
4Cypress7.8Free plan$67/moYes———
5Squish7.7No—No—codeYes
6WebdriverIO7.7Free planFreeYes———
7ACCELQ7.6No—Yes———
8Keysight Eggplant Test7.5No—No———
9Nightwatch7.5Free planFreeYes———
10BugBug7.3Free plan$99/moYes———
11Selenium7.3Free planFreeYes———
12Playwright7.2Free planFreeYes———
13Robot Framework7.1Free planFreeYes—low_codeYes
14TestGrid7.1No$199/moNo199 /user/mo——
15Functionize7.0Free plan$20/moYes———
16Avo Assure6.9No—No———
17ReadyAPI6.5No—No———
18Testlio6.2No————Yes
19Virtuoso6.2No—No———
20uTest6.1No—Yes——Yes
21Ghost Inspector6.0No$109/moNo———
22Tricentis Testim6.0No—————
23BrowserStack Automate5.9No$59/moNo———
24Detox5.9No—Yes———
25Katalon Studio5.9No—No———

Is your tool on this list?

Numbered spots on this list can be sponsored. They are labelled, and the editorial order and scores never change for payment.

Questions about this list

Which functional testing software is ranked first on Specifiction?

Maestro is ranked #1 of 38 with a score of 8.2. TestCafe is second and testRigor third.

How many of these have a free plan?

11 of the 25 on this page publish a free plan on their own pricing pages.

Which is the cheapest paid option?

On this page, TestCafe has the lowest first paid tier we found: $20/mo.

How is this list ranked?

Ranked on what each maker publishes, the fullest spec sheet first: how deeply the product is documented, the platforms it runs on, a free tier or trial to test it, and its standing. Paid placements never change a rank.

More in Developer Tools

All developer tools lists