FilterPixel vs Narrative Select
FilterPixel
filterpixel.comNarrative Select
narrative.soSide by side
| Figure | FilterPixel | Narrative Select |
|---|---|---|
| Price from | $14.99/mo | $10/mo |
| Free plan | — | — |
| Free trial | Yes | Yes |
| Open source | — | — |
| Windows | Yes | Yes |
| macOS | Yes | Yes |
| Plans published | 4 | 4 |
| Spec score · AI Photo Culling Software | 8.0 (#12) | 7.9 (#14) |
| Spec score · Photo Culling Software | 7.9 (#13) | 7.9 (#14) |
| Headquarters | Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India | Auckland, New Zealand |
| Integrations | FilterPixel exports to Lightroom, Lightroom Classic, Photoshop, and Capture One, carrying ratings and color labels through XMP metadata. | Narrative supports one-click workflows with Lightroom Classic, Lightroom CC, Photoshop and Capture One; Capture One support is listed for Mac. |
| Support | Plans include in-app support; the Studio plan adds VIP support and an onboarding call. | The site links users to a Narrative Help Center and a Contact Support page. |
| Trial | The pricing FAQ says users can try free DeepCull shoots without a credit card; it does not state a trial duration there. | New accounts start with a free Ultra trial without requiring a credit card; the page does not state the trial duration. |
Plans
FilterPixel
- Extra DeepCull shoot$7.99, paid once
- Standard$14.99 a month
- Pro$34.99 a month
- Studio$64.99 a month
Narrative Select
- Lite$10 a month
- Standard$20 a month
- Premium$40 a month
- Ultra$60 a month
In their own words
FilterPixel
FilterPixel is photo culling and editing software for photographers, available on macOS and Windows. Its DeepCull feature scores and explains evaluated photos using criteria for events, sports, concerts and weddings. Review Mode groups burst photos, while Survey Mode compares similar frames and supports detail inspection at up to 16× zoom. Users can apply built-in AI profiles or train custom profiles from an edited Lightroom catalog. Exports to Lightroom, Lightroom Classic, Photoshop and Capture One preserve ratings and color labels through XMP metadata. It supports JPEG and RAW, organizes photos rather than deleting them, and allows flagged rejects to be recovered with one click. Each DeepCull shoot processes up to 5,500 photos; larger projects are split into multiple shoots. The free plan and free DeepCull shoots offer a way to start, with no credit card required for the free shoots. Standard costs $14.99 per month billed annually at $180/yr and includes 20 shoots per year. Culling takes place in the cloud, not offline.
Narrative Select
Narrative Select is photo culling and editing software for photographers working on macOS or Windows. Its AI detects faces, evaluates focus and eye state, and assesses whether another frame in a scene may be stronger. It sorts and ranks images, while the photographer makes the final selections. Scenes View organizes shoots, the Close-ups Panel helps inspect expressions, and People Filter groups images by named faces. Supported formats include CR2, CR3, NEF, DNG, RAW, JPG, HEIC, and HEIF. Culling runs locally and offline, with side-by-side comparison and batch actions. One-click workflows connect to Lightroom Classic, Lightroom CC, Photoshop, and Capture One; Capture One support is listed for Mac. The maker says thousands of RAW files can be imported in seconds, with unlimited projects and images. New accounts receive a free Ultra trial without a credit card, with no duration stated. Annual-billed plans are 10.00, 20.00, 40.00, and 60.00 USD monthly.