Scrivener vs Write.as
Scrivener
literatureandlatte.comWrite.as
write.asSide by side
| Figure | Scrivener | Write.as |
|---|---|---|
| Price from | $23.99/mo | $6/mo |
| Free plan | — | Yes |
| Free trial | Yes | Yes |
| Open source | — | — |
| Windows | Yes | — |
| macOS | Yes | — |
| iOS | Yes | — |
| Self-hosted | — | Yes |
| Plans published | 8 | 8 |
| Spec score · Writing Apps | 9.1 (#8) | 9.0 (#10) |
| Spec score · Text App | 8.5 (#5) | 8.3 (#9) |
| Spec score · Note And Writing Apps | 8.5 (#14) | 8.2 (#19) |
| Founded | 2006 | 2015 |
| Free plan | No | Yes |
| Free trial | A free trial is available, but the supplied text does not state its duration or limits. | Pro has a 14-day free trial, while Team has a 30-day free trial. |
| Headquarters | Cornwall, UK | New York City, United States |
Plans
Scrivener
- macOS licence$59.99 a month
- Windows licence$59.99 a month
- iOS licence$23.99 a month
- iOS license$23.99, paid once
- Mac license$59.99, paid once
- Windows license$59.99, paid once
- All three platforms$121.93, paid once
- Free trialFree
Write.as
- FreeFree
- Pro$6 a month
- Team$25 a month
- EnterprisePriced on request
- Pro Annual$6 a month
- Pro Monthly$9 a month
- Team Annual$25 a month
- Team Monthly$30 a month
In their own words
Scrivener
Scrivener is a long-form writing app for macOS, Windows, and iOS, built for projects that can be composed in sections of any size. Writers can keep research materials such as PDFs and web pages beside a draft, and import Word, OpenOffice, plain text, Final Draft, images, PDFs, movies, sound files, and web pages. A project window can show up to four documents at once. Screenwriting tools handle script formatting and support printing and Final Draft export. For non-fiction, Scrivener supports footnotes, research libraries, and templates including MLA and APA. Writing History shows how much was written each day. The app also has publishing tools, version history, and offline mode, but not real-time collaboration. A 30-day trial is offered. Single-platform licences cost $59.99 as a one-time purchase for macOS or Windows and $23.99, paid once for iOS; an all-three-platform licence costs $121.93 as a one-time purchase. No recurring payment is required unless a customer chooses another platform or a major update. Scrivener is made by Literature & Latte Ltd., based in Cornwall, UK.
Write.as
Write.as is a publishing service for blogs and posts, with Markdown and Rich Text editing. It automatically saves work in the browser as users write. Readers can access posts in browsers, by email or RSS, on e-readers and through Mastodon; publishing and reader experiences are ad-free. The Free plan includes one personal blog and three posts per day, but is listed as closed for now. Pro supports up to three blogs on Write.as or a user's own domain; annual billing is $6 a month and monthly billing is $9 a month. Team supports collaborative editing, roles and up to five team members, at $25 a month billed yearly or $30 a month billed monthly. Other listed capabilities include scheduling, memberships, blog analytics, custom-code themes, APIs and command-line publishing. Users can export work or self-host with WriteFreely. The service says it does not track users or gather excessive data, but does not state encryption details or security certifications. Write.as has been founder-owned and operated in New York City since 2015.