Best MOOC Platforms in 2026

In short: Alison is ranked #1 of 67 as of 4 October 2026, ahead of edX and Pluralsight. The best-ranked option with a free plan is edX. The lowest first paid tier on this page is Khan Academy at $0.83/mo.

Whether you want to explore a subject, work toward a credential, or study as part of an organization, MOOC platforms vary in their access and learning options. Compared on completion certificates, course access model, degree programs, enterprise plans, free plan, mobile apps, offline learning, and paid from, the entries let you weigh format alongside cost. Alison, edX, and Pluralsight are among the platforms to consider. Check whether courses are available in a way that suits your study habits, whether certificates or degree programs matter to your goal, and if mobile apps or offline learning are useful. For team learning, include enterprise plans in the comparison.

67 MOOC platforms ranked on what their makers publish — plans and prices, free tiers, platforms and the facts on their own pages.

67ranked
15free plans on this page
$0.83/molowest paid tier
4 Oct 2026last checked
Input list MOOC Platforms 25 channels on this page · 74 of 200 spec lines stated by the makers
Ch Tool Free planPaid fromCourse access modelCompletion certificatesDegree programsEnterprise plansMobile appsOffline learning Spec sheet Score
01 Alison Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.8
02 edX Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.8
03 Pluralsight Free planNoPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.7
04 Great Learning Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelmixedCompletion certificatesYesDegree programsYesEnterprise plansYesMobile appsYesOffline learningYes 7/8spec lines stated 7.5
05 Khan Academy Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelsubscriptionCompletion certificatesNoDegree programsNoEnterprise plansYesMobile appsYesOffline learningYes 7/8spec lines stated 7.2
06 Brilliant Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelsubscriptionCompletion certificatesNoDegree programsNoEnterprise plansYesMobile appsYesOffline learningNo 7/8spec lines stated 7.1
07 Codecademy Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelsubscriptionCompletion certificatesYesDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansYesMobile appsYesOffline learningnot stated 5/8spec lines stated 6.9
08 Coursera Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.9
09 DataCamp Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.9
10 FutureLearn Free planYesPaid from$49.99/moCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 6.9
11 Google Cloud Skills Boost Free planYesPaid from$29/moCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 6.9
12 LinkedIn Learning Free planNoPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.9
13 OpenClassrooms Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelmixedCompletion certificatesYesDegree programsYesEnterprise plansYesMobile appsYesOffline learningYes 7/8spec lines stated 6.9
14 freeCodeCamp Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsNoOffline learningnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 6.8
15 NovoEd Free plannot statedPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 0/8spec lines stated 6.8
16 AWS Skill Builder Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.7
17 Canvas Network Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesYesDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsYesOffline learningYes 4/8spec lines stated 6.6
18 Edraak Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesYesDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsYesOffline learningYes 4/8spec lines stated 6.6
19 MasterClass Free planNoPaid from$10/moCourse access modelmixedCompletion certificatesYesDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansYesMobile appsYesOffline learningYes 7/8spec lines stated 6.6
20 iversity Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.5
21 Kadenze Free planYesPaid from$20/moCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 6.4
22 O'Reilly Learning Free planNoPaid from$49/moCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 6.4
23 Prometheus Free planYesPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelmixedCompletion certificatesYesDegree programsNoEnterprise plansYesMobile appsYesOffline learningnot stated 6/8spec lines stated 6.3
24 OpenLearning Free plannot statedPaid fromnot statedCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 0/8spec lines stated 6.2
25 Skillshare Free planNoPaid from$13.99/moCourse access modelnot statedCompletion certificatesnot statedDegree programsnot statedEnterprise plansnot statedMobile appsnot statedOffline learningnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 6.2
Compare all 25 in a table
#ToolScoreFree planFromFree planPaid fromCourse access modelCompletion certificates
1Alison7.8Free plan$5/moYes———
2edX7.8Free plan$12.50/moYes———
3Pluralsight7.7No$24.92/moNo———
4Great Learning7.5Free plan₹999/moYes—mixedYes
5Khan Academy7.2Free plan$0.83/moYes—subscriptionNo
6Brilliant7.1Free plan—Yes—subscriptionNo
7Codecademy6.9Free plan$24.92/moYes—subscriptionYes
8Coursera6.9No—Yes———
9DataCamp6.9Free planFreeYes———
10FutureLearn6.9Free plan$29.17/moYes49.99 /mo——
11Google Cloud Skills Boost6.9Free plan$29/moYes29 /mo——
12LinkedIn Learning6.9No$31.66/moNo———
13OpenClassrooms6.9Free plan€300/moYes—mixedYes
14freeCodeCamp6.8Free planFreeYes———
15NovoEd6.8No—————
16AWS Skill Builder6.7Free plan$29/moYes———
17Canvas Network6.6No—Yes——Yes
18Edraak6.6Free planFreeYes——Yes
19MasterClass6.6No$5/moNo10 /momixedYes
20iversity6.5Free plan€19/moYes———
21Kadenze6.4Free plan$20/moYes20 /mo——
22O'Reilly Learning6.4No$41.58/moNo49 /mo——
23Prometheus6.3No—Yes—mixedYes
24OpenLearning6.2No$514.17/mo————
25Skillshare6.2No$13.25/moNo13.99 /mo——

Is your tool on this list?

Numbered spots on this list can be sponsored. They are labelled, and the editorial order and scores never change for payment.

Questions about this list

Which MOOC platform is ranked first on Specifiction?

Alison is ranked #1 of 67 with a score of 7.8. edX is second and Pluralsight third.

How many of these have a free plan?

15 of the 25 on this page publish a free plan on their own pricing pages.

Which is the cheapest paid option?

On this page, Khan Academy has the lowest first paid tier we found: $0.83/mo.

How is this list ranked?

Ranked on what each maker publishes, the fullest spec sheet first: how deeply the product is documented, the platforms it runs on, a free tier or trial to test it, and its standing. Paid placements never change a rank.

More in Learning & Education

All learning & education lists