Best Task Automation Software in 2026

In short: Make is ranked #1 of 36 as of 4 October 2026, ahead of IFTTT and Macro Recorder. The best-ranked option with a free plan is IFTTT. The lowest first paid tier on this page is IFTTT at $2.99/mo.

Task automation software can connect routine actions across apps, browsers and desktops, with workflows running on triggers or schedules. Compared on app triggers, scheduled runs and monthly run limit, the entries offer ways to assess timing and volume constraints. Browser automation, desktop recorder and desktop support show the kinds of tasks covered; workflow step limit is another point to check. Make, IFTTT and Macro Recorder are among the options to compare. Consider what work you want to automate, how often it needs to run and whether a free plan or paid-from price suits your needs.

36 task automation software ranked on what their makers publish — plans and prices, free tiers, platforms and the facts on their own pages.

36ranked
11free plans on this page
$2.99/molowest paid tier
4 Oct 2026last checked
Input list Task Automation Software 25 channels on this page · 66 of 200 spec lines stated by the makers
Ch Tool Free planPaid fromDesktop supportScheduled runsApp triggersBrowser automationDesktop recorderMonthly run limit Spec sheet Score
01 Make Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsnot statedApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.5
02 IFTTT Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsYesApp triggersYesBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 3/8spec lines stated 7.4
03 Macro Recorder Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportwindows macosScheduled runsYesApp triggersYesBrowser automationYesDesktop recorderYesMonthly run limitnot stated 6/8spec lines stated 7.4
04 Windmill Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsnot statedApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.4
05 Ui.Vision RPA Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsnot statedApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationYesDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 7.3
06 Browserflow Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsYesApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationYesDesktop recorderYesMonthly run limitnot stated 4/8spec lines stated 7.2
07 Zapier Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsnot statedApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.9
08 Activepieces Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsnot statedApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.8
09 FlexGet Free plannot statedPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportcross platformScheduled runsYesApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 6.6
10 AutoIt Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportwindowsScheduled runsYesApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationYesDesktop recorderYesMonthly run limitnot stated 5/8spec lines stated 6.5
11 Axiom.ai Free planNoPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportcross platformScheduled runsYesApp triggersYesBrowser automationYesDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 5/8spec lines stated 6.5
12 Automate Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsnot statedApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.4
13 Huginn Free plannot statedPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsYesApp triggersYesBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 6.4
14 Microsoft Power Automate Free planYesPaid from15/user/moDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsnot statedApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 6.4
15 Node-RED Free plannot statedPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsnot statedApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 0/8spec lines stated 6.4
16 Apple Shortcuts Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsYesApp triggersYesBrowser automationYesDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 4/8spec lines stated 6.3
17 n8n Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsnot statedApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.3
18 Bardeen Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsnot statedApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.0
19 QuickTime Player Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsYesApp triggersYesBrowser automationYesDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 4/8spec lines stated 6.0
20 Keyboard Maestro Free planNoPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsnot statedApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 5.8
21 Actiona Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportcross platformScheduled runsYesApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 3/8spec lines stated 5.7
22 Auto Power-on & Shut-down Free plannot statedPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportwindowsScheduled runsYesApp triggersNoBrowser automationNoDesktop recorderYesMonthly run limitnot stated 5/8spec lines stated 5.7
23 Automate Desktop Free planNoPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportwindowsScheduled runsYesApp triggersYesBrowser automationYesDesktop recorderYesMonthly run limitnot stated 6/8spec lines stated 5.7
24 Automatisch Free plannot statedPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportnot statedScheduled runsnot statedApp triggersnot statedBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recordernot statedMonthly run limitnot stated 0/8spec lines stated 5.7
25 TinyTask Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDesktop supportwindowsScheduled runsNoApp triggersNoBrowser automationnot statedDesktop recorderYesMonthly run limitnot stated 5/8spec lines stated 5.7

Is your tool on this list?

Numbered spots on this list can be sponsored. They are labelled, and the editorial order and scores never change for payment.

Questions about this list

Which task automation software is ranked first on Specifiction?

Make is ranked #1 of 36 with a score of 7.5. IFTTT is second and Macro Recorder third.

How many of these have a free plan?

11 of the 25 on this page publish a free plan on their own pricing pages.

Which is the cheapest paid option?

On this page, IFTTT has the lowest first paid tier we found: $2.99/mo.

How is this list ranked?

Ranked on what each maker publishes, the fullest spec sheet first: how deeply the product is documented, the platforms it runs on, a free tier or trial to test it, and its standing. Paid placements never change a rank.

More in Cloud, Backup & PC

All cloud, backup & PC lists