Skip to content
SPECIFICTION
Get listed

Snowflake CoCo

snowflake.com

Free trial WebWindowsmacOSLinuxAPI
Visit snowflake.com
Spec score 8.8 #22 of 102 in AI Coding Assistants

What it is

Snowflake CoCo is an AI coding agent for data engineering, analytics, machine learning, and agent-building work in Snowflake. It is available in Snowsight, as desktop software, and through a command-line interface. In Snowsight, it can create SQL and Python notebook code from natural-language requests, explain or optimize queries, and answer account administration questions. Desktop mode offers agent and editor workflows, local repository access, plugins, skills, hooks, MCP connections, and interaction with web pages and Snowflake notebooks. The CLI can connect to Snowflake, execute SQL, access local files, and run bash and git operations. Its security controls include role-based access, OS sandboxing, approval tiers, and automatic risk assessment. CoCo supports code completion, chat assistance, codebase indexing, and terminal access; an Agent Client Protocol preview supports use with Zed, JetBrains, VS Code, and Neovim. Access requires cross-region inference. The 30-day introductory trial includes $40 USD in inference credits, followed by a $20 USD monthly subscription fee; separate Snowflake compute and storage charges may apply. Usage can also be billed by token consumption.

Spec sheet

Purpose
CoCo is an AI coding agent for data engineering, analytics, machine learning, and agent-building work in Snowflake.Read 29 Sep 2026 · docs.snowflake.com
Free plan
NoRead 22 Sep 2026 · snowflake.com
Integrations
CoCo supports MCP connections to tools and data sources such as GitHub, Jira, internal APIs, and databases; the product page also names dbt, Apache Airflow, Postgres, Spark, and AWS Glue workflows.Read 29 Sep 2026 · snowflake.com
Security
The CLI supports Snowflake role-based access control, OS-level sandboxing, a three-tier approval system, and automatic risk assessment.Read 29 Sep 2026 · docs.snowflake.com
Headquarters
Menlo Park, California, United StatesRead 28 Sep 2026 · snowflake.com
Founded
2012Read 28 Sep 2026 · snowflake.com
Maker
The maker is Snowflake Inc.; its opened About page describes it as a data platform company but does not state a founding date or headquarters address.Read 29 Sep 2026 · snowflake.com
Availability
The documentation marks Snowsight, Desktop, and CLI as generally available and states that access requires cross-region inference to be enabled.Read 29 Sep 2026 · docs.snowflake.com
Chat assistance
YesRead 22 Sep 2026 · snowflake.com
CLI capabilities
The CLI can connect to Snowflake, execute SQL, access local files, run bash and git operations, and use project-specific agent instructions and skills.Read 29 Sep 2026 · docs.snowflake.com
Code completion
YesRead 22 Sep 2026 · snowflake.com
Codebase indexing
YesRead 22 Sep 2026 · snowflake.com
Coding agent
YesRead 22 Sep 2026 · snowflake.com
Desktop features
CoCo Desktop supports agent and editor modes, local repository access, plugins, skills, hooks, MCP connections, and interaction with web pages and Snowflake notebooks.Read 29 Sep 2026 · docs.snowflake.com
IDE support
CoCo’s Agent Client Protocol preview supports embedding it as a local agent backend in editors including Zed, JetBrains, VS Code, and Neovim.Read 29 Sep 2026 · docs.snowflake.com
Interfaces
CoCo is available in Snowsight, as a desktop IDE, and through a command-line interface.Read 29 Sep 2026 · docs.snowflake.com
Model choices
The product page lists Claude Opus 4.8, Claude Opus 4.7, Claude Opus 4.6, Claude Opus 4.5, Claude Sonnet 5, Claude Sonnet 4.6, Claude Sonnet 4.5, OpenAI GPT 5.4, and OpenAI GPT 5.2.Read 29 Sep 2026 · snowflake.com
Notable limits
CoCo Desktop and CLI availability excludes government accounts, VPS, and sovereign accounts, while Snowsight lists commercial, FedRAMP Moderate and High, DoD, and KSA sovereign accounts.Read 29 Sep 2026 · docs.snowflake.com
Pricing basis
CoCo usage is billed by token consumption for existing Snowflake customers, and separate Snowflake compute or storage charges may apply.Read 29 Sep 2026 · docs.snowflake.com
Snowsight features
In Snowsight, CoCo can generate SQL and Python notebook code from natural language, explain and optimize queries, and answer account administration questions.Read 29 Sep 2026 · docs.snowflake.com
Supported IDEs
Zed,JetBrains,VS Code,NeovimRead 22 Sep 2026 · snowflake.com
Terminal access
YesRead 22 Sep 2026 · snowflake.com
Trial offer
The product page advertises an introductory Snowflake trial with $40 USD in inference credits for the first 30 days, followed by a $20 USD monthly subscription fee; separate Snowflake platform consumption charges apply.Read 29 Sep 2026 · snowflake.com

Plans and prices

CoCo CLI/Desktop subscription Price not published Monthly subscription after a 30-day free trial; the amount is not stated on the pages opened. Fixed monthly usage; unavailable until the next billing period if included usage is exceeded Read 29 Sep 2026 · docs.snowflake.com
CoCo pay-as-you-go Priced on request Token consumption for companies with an existing Snowflake account; price depends on consumption. Snowflake compute and storage are billed separately at standard rates Read 29 Sep 2026 · docs.snowflake.com

Every Snowflake CoCo plan and price →

Strong points and limits

Strong points

  • Works in Snowsight, desktop, and CLI
  • Generates SQL and Python notebook code
  • Includes query explanation and optimization
  • Offers role-based access and sandboxing
  • Supports MCP connections and IDE preview

Limits

  • Requires cross-region inference to be enabled
  • Desktop and CLI exclude government, VPS, and sovereign accounts
  • Separate Snowflake compute or storage charges may apply

Who it suits

CoCo suits Snowflake customers doing data engineering, analytics, machine learning, or agent-building work who want coding assistance in Snowsight, a desktop environment, or a CLI. Teams should account for cross-region inference and the separate billing models.

Snowflake CoCo in depth

Read the full write-up

Snowflake CoCo is an AI coding agent for data engineering, analytics, machine learning, and agent-building work in Snowflake. It is best suited to teams already working in Snowflake that want assistance in their notebooks, local projects, and command line. Its breadth is useful, but the fit depends on Snowflake access and a willingness to manage usage-based or subscription costs.

Overview

CoCo combines code completion, chat, and agent capabilities across Snowsight, a desktop IDE, and a command-line interface. That range can support work from query authoring to local project tasks, making it more than a query helper. Its strongest case is for Snowflake-centered data work; teams looking for a coding agent independent of a data platform may find its Snowflake integration less relevant.

Key features

Snowsight for database work

In Snowsight, CoCo generates SQL and Python notebook code from natural-language requests, explains and optimizes queries, and answers account administration questions. This puts coding and operational help close to Snowflake work, which is valuable for developers and analysts who move between notebooks, queries, and account tasks.

Desktop and CLI for project work

CoCo Desktop offers agent and editor modes, local repository access, plugins, skills, hooks, MCP connections, and interaction with web pages and Snowflake notebooks. The CLI can connect to Snowflake, execute SQL, access local files, and run bash and git operations. Project-specific agent instructions and skills can help tailor CLI work to a repository. Together, these options suit teams whose data projects span local code and Snowflake, though the wider operating reach makes its access controls particularly important.

Integrations, models, and safeguards

MCP connections can link CoCo to tools and sources including GitHub, Jira, internal APIs, and databases. Snowflake also names dbt, Apache Airflow, Postgres, Spark, and AWS Glue workflows. The product page lists Claude Opus 4.8, Claude Opus 4.7, Claude Opus 4.6, Claude Opus 4.5, Claude Sonnet 5, Claude Sonnet 4.6, Claude Sonnet 4.5, OpenAI GPT 5.4, and OpenAI GPT 5.2 as model choices.

The CLI combines Snowflake role-based access control with OS-level sandboxing, a three-tier approval system, and automatic risk assessment. Those controls are a meaningful fit for teams letting an agent operate across database and terminal tasks. Access requires cross-region inference to be enabled.

Pricing

Snowflake offers two billing approaches, both with costs beyond CoCo that may matter to a team’s budget. Existing Snowflake customers can use pay-as-you-go billing based on token consumption; Snowflake compute and storage are charged separately at standard rates. This is the flexible route for organizations that want usage-based billing, but consumption-based costs can vary with use.

The CoCo CLI/Desktop subscription has custom pricing and is billed monthly after a 30-day free trial. It provides fixed monthly usage, but if included usage is exceeded, access is unavailable until the next billing period. That may suit teams preferring a subscription over token-based billing, provided the included usage fits their work.

A separate introductory Snowflake trial advertises $40 USD in inference credits for the first 30 days, followed by a $20 USD monthly subscription fee. Separate Snowflake platform consumption charges apply. There is no free plan, so neither route is an ongoing free option.

Platforms

CoCo is a cloud service available through Snowsight, Desktop, and CLI; its platform coverage includes API, Linux, macOS, web, and Windows. Snowsight, Desktop, and CLI are generally available. The Agent Client Protocol preview supports embedding CoCo as a local agent backend in Zed, JetBrains, VS Code, and Neovim.

Account eligibility differs by interface. Snowsight supports commercial, FedRAMP Moderate and High, DoD, and KSA sovereign accounts. Desktop and CLI are unavailable for government accounts, VPS, and sovereign accounts, so organizations with those account types cannot assume the same interface coverage across CoCo.

Who it's for

CoCo is a strong fit for Snowflake customers building data engineering, analytics, machine learning, or agent-based projects who want help across notebooks, repositories, and terminal work. Its SQL notebooks, scheduled queries, team query sharing, data lake support, streaming ingestion, in-database machine learning, and separate storage and compute support add to its appeal as part of a broader data platform workflow. Query history is retained for 14 days.

It is a weaker fit for teams that need an ongoing free tier, predictable costs without a usage ceiling, or Desktop and CLI access on excluded account types. Organizations that only need SQL query assistance may not need the wider agent capabilities.

Pros and cons

Pros

Three complementary interfaces: Snowsight, Desktop, and CLI cover database, local project, and terminal workflows.

Useful project reach: Local files, SQL execution, bash and git operations, and MCP connections can connect coding tasks with data work.

CLI safeguards: Role-based access, sandboxing, approvals, and risk assessment address the risks of an agent that can act across systems.

Cons

Snowflake-dependent value: The product is built for Snowflake work, limiting its appeal for teams that need a platform-neutral assistant.

Costs can extend beyond CoCo: Pay-as-you-go charges depend on token consumption, and separate compute or storage charges may apply.

Interface restrictions: Desktop and CLI exclude government, VPS, and sovereign accounts, despite broader Snowsight account support.

Subscription overage stops access: Exceeding fixed monthly usage makes the subscription unavailable until the next billing period.

Alternatives

For teams comparing data-focused tools, AI Database Assistants and Data Warehouse Software are useful starting points; the SQL Query Tools category is more relevant when query work is the main need. Readers assessing adjacent data products can also explore Data Clean Room Software, Data Marketplace Software, and Columnar Databases.

Placino is a freemium data clean room option with a free plan capped at 500K datapoints per month, one clean room, and up to three partners; choose it when clean-room collaboration and a defined free allowance matter more than Snowflake coding assistance. Amazon Marketing Cloud is free for eligible advertisers, making it the alternative to consider when that eligibility and a no-cost clean-room offering are the priority.

AppsFlyer Data Clean Room is a freemium option with a free plan and a paid premium feature whose pricing is not public. INDICO DataHub 2 has a $79 a month Professional plan and a priced on request Enterprise plan, for readers comparing fixed-price plans and their included features. BigQuery Data Clean Rooms is a free option with separate contributor and subscriber roles; consider it when clean-room participation is the goal.

Permutive, Decentriq Data Clean Rooms, and InfoSum Data Clean Room are other alternatives to compare.

Verdict

Choose Snowflake CoCo if your team already works in Snowflake and wants one agent for SQL, notebooks, local repositories, and terminal tasks, with controls for CLI operations. Look elsewhere if Snowflake is not central to your work, if usage costs need to be more predictable, or if your account type rules out Desktop and CLI.

Verdict

CoCo brings coding assistance and Snowflake operations into three interfaces, with security controls and integrations for external tools. Pricing depends on token use or a subscription, and separate platform charges may apply.

Where Specifiction places it

Alternatives to Snowflake CoCoAll alternatives →