Notaron vs Proof Notarize
Notaron
notaron.comProof Notarize
proof.comSide by side
| Figure | Notaron | Proof Notarize |
|---|---|---|
| Price from | $29/mo | $199/mo |
| Free plan | Yes | — |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Open source | — | — |
| Web | Yes | Yes |
| iOS | — | Yes |
| Android | — | Yes |
| API | Yes | Yes |
| Plans published | 7 | 3 |
| Spec score · Legal Notarization Software | 8.3 (#4) | 7.7 (#13) |
| Spec score · Online Notary Software | 8.3 (#5) | 7.7 (#12) |
| API | The API supports programmatic order creation, webhook callbacks, and retrieval of notarized PDFs, audit logs, and session recordings. | API access is included with Pro+ and higher business tiers, while Proof's API guide says access is available to eligible organization accounts. |
| Availability | The service says notaries are available 24/7 without an appointment and to signers in all 50 states. | Proof says its Notarize Network is available on-demand 24/7, 365 days a year. |
| Company | The company says it is headquartered in the San Francisco Bay Area and was founded by a veteran of the escrow, notary, and mortgage industry; the page does not state a founding year. | Proof identifies Pat Kinsel as its CEO, president, and founder; the company page does not state a headquarters or founding year. |
| Compliance | The homepage says the service is SOC 2-aligned, uses 256-bit encryption, and complies with UETA, the E-SIGN Act, and RON statutes in states that have enacted RON legislation. | Proof lists AICPA SOC 2, Kantara IAL2, MISMO, WCAG Level AA, and WebTrust among its platform credentials or compliance claims. |
| Headquarters | San Francisco Bay Area, United States | Boston, Massachusetts, United States |
| Identity checks | The site describes government ID verification and identity questions, while its API page lists eID, KBA, credential analysis, selfie, and liveness checks. | Identity verification includes credential analysis, knowledge-based authentication, and biometric comparison. |
| Integrations | The integrations page lists Clio as early access, QuickBooks as planned, and the REST API and webhooks as available. | Proof lists integrations including ResWare and SoftPro 360 for title workflows, and Encompass and SimpleNexus for lenders. |
| Security | The security page says Notaron uses encryption, audited controls, and identity verification, and directs readers to legal documents for binding details. | Proof's Trust Center says documents use AES 256-bit encryption and enterprise access controls support SCIM, SSO, team hierarchies, and advanced permissions. |
| Support | The Starter business account lists email and live chat support; the Premium notary plan lists 24/7 phone support. | Enterprise pricing includes premier support, and the Premium title tier lists customer support for signers and access to a closing concierge team. |
Plans
Notaron
- Notary FreeFree
- StarterFree
- Standard notarization session$25, paid once
- Notary Basic$29 a month
- Notary Professional$79 a month
- Notary Premium$149 a month
- EnterprisePriced on request
Proof Notarize
- Pro+$199 a month
- Premium & EnterprisePriced on request
- ProPrice not published
In their own words
Notaron
Notaron provides remote online notarization through video sessions connecting signers with commissioned notaries. It says notaries are available at any time, without appointments, to signers in all 50 states. Customers can upload PDFs or scan paper documents with a phone camera, verify their identity, sign electronically during a video call, then download the notarized document. Notaron lists real estate, legal and personal, and business documents among the types it handles. Identity checks include government ID and identity questions; the API page also lists eID, KBA, credential analysis, selfie, and liveness checks. The API supports order creation, webhook callbacks, and retrieval of notarized PDFs, audit logs, and session recordings. The REST API and webhooks are available; Clio is early access, while QuickBooks and several other listed integrations are planned. Pricing includes a free plan and a standard session at $25, paid once. Notary plans include $29 a month for Basic, $79 a month for Professional, and $149 a month for Premium.
Proof Notarize
Proof Notarize provides remote online notarization for business workflows and important documents. Proof says its Notarize Network is available on demand 24/7, 365 days a year, and that its notarizations are accepted in all 50 states. Identity checks use credential analysis, knowledge-based authentication, and biometric comparison. A business can bring its own notaries or use the network, and a notary can request an on-demand witness during a signing. Businesses can apply their logo and colors. Proof lists use in real estate, financial services and lending, business contracts, legal and estate planning, and insurance. Its Defend service analyzes video frames in real time for deepfake signals. Signers can use a phone browser without downloading an app for most transactions, though real estate transactions cannot be completed in the Notarize app. Pro+ costs $199 a month plus transaction fees and includes API access, custom branding, forms, and signing rules. Pro is billed at $0 per month plus transaction fees; higher business tiers have custom pricing.