Best Screen Time Management Apps in 2026

In short: Freedom is ranked #1 of 36 as of 5 October 2026, ahead of StayFree and one sec. The best-ranked option with a free plan is StayFree. The lowest first paid tier on this page is Freedom at $0.28/mo.

If you want to set boundaries around device use, these apps offer different controls and ways to review activity. Compared on application limits, scheduled limits, and focus sessions, they can help you see which kinds of controls are listed. Usage reports and history retention matter if you want to look back at activity; devices included and supported platforms help you check compatibility with your setup. Freedom, StayFree, and Opal are among the named options to compare. Check whether a free plan is listed and what the paid-from price is, too. Weigh the controls, reporting, device coverage, and cost details against how you want to manage screen time.

36 screen time management apps ranked on what their makers publish — plans and prices, free tiers, platforms and the facts on their own pages.

36ranked
12free plans on this page
$0.28/molowest paid tier
5 Oct 2026last checked
Input list Screen Time Management Apps 25 channels on this page · 87 of 200 spec lines stated by the makers
Ch Tool Free planPaid fromDevices includedSupported platformsUsage reportsApplication limitsScheduled limitsFocus sessions Spec sheet Score
01 Freedom Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsnot statedUsage reportsnot statedApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.9
02 StayFree Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsWindows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS, Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Wear OSUsage reportsYesApplication limitsYesScheduled limitsYesFocus sessionsYes 6/8spec lines stated 7.6
03 one sec Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsnot statedUsage reportsnot statedApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.5
04 Opal Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsnot statedUsage reportsnot statedApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.4
05 FocusMe Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices included5 devicesSupported platformsnot statedUsage reportsnot statedApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 7.3
06 Hikage Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices included2 devicesSupported platformsmacOSUsage reportsYesApplication limitsYesScheduled limitsYesFocus sessionsYes 7/8spec lines stated 7.1
07 ScreenZen Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsnot statedUsage reportsnot statedApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 7.1
08 YourHour Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsiOS, Android, Android TVUsage reportsYesApplication limitsYesScheduled limitsYesFocus sessionsYes 6/8spec lines stated 7.1
09 ManicTime Free planYesPaid from7/user/moDevices includednot statedSupported platformsnot statedUsage reportsnot statedApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 7.0
10 AppBlock Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsnot statedUsage reportsnot statedApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.9
11 Apple Screen Time Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsnot statedUsage reportsnot statedApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.8
12 Focusly Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsWindows, macOS, Chrome extensionUsage reportsYesApplication limitsYesScheduled limitsYesFocus sessionsYes 6/8spec lines stated 6.8
13 Lock Me Out Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsAndroidUsage reportsYesApplication limitsYesScheduled limitsYesFocus sessionsYes 6/8spec lines stated 6.8
14 RescueTime Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsnot statedUsage reportsnot statedApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.7
15 Deskly Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsWindowsUsage reportsYesApplication limitsYesScheduled limitsYesFocus sessionsYes 6/8spec lines stated 6.6
16 Google Digital Wellbeing Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsAndroidUsage reportsYesApplication limitsYesScheduled limitsYesFocus sessionsYes 6/8spec lines stated 6.6
17 SmartBreak Free planNoPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsWindows, macOSUsage reportsnot statedApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 6.6
18 ActionDash Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsAndroidUsage reportsYesApplication limitsYesScheduled limitsYesFocus sessionsYes 6/8spec lines stated 6.5
19 Screen Time Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices included5 devicesSupported platformsnot statedUsage reportsnot statedApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 2/8spec lines stated 6.5
20 ActivityWatch Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsnot statedUsage reportsnot statedApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.3
21 FacePause Free plannot statedPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsmacOS 11 and later; Intel and Apple SiliconUsage reportsnot statedApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 1/8spec lines stated 6.3
22 Timing Free planNoPaid fromnot statedDevices included1 devicesSupported platformsmacOS, web app, iPhone/iPad Screen Time importUsage reportsYesApplication limitsnot statedScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsnot stated 4/8spec lines stated 6.3
23 Rize Free planNoPaid from9.99/user/moDevices includednot statedSupported platformsmacOS, WindowsUsage reportsYesApplication limitsNoScheduled limitsNoFocus sessionsYes 7/8spec lines stated 6.1
24 Focusd Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsWindows 10/11Usage reportsYesApplication limitsYesScheduled limitsnot statedFocus sessionsYes 5/8spec lines stated 5.8
25 Roots Free planYesPaid fromnot statedDevices includednot statedSupported platformsiOSUsage reportsYesApplication limitsYesScheduled limitsYesFocus sessionsnot stated 5/8spec lines stated 5.8
Compare all 25 in a table
#ToolScoreFree planFromFree planPaid fromDevices includedSupported platforms
1Freedom7.9Free plan$0.28/moYes———
2StayFree7.6Free planFreeYes——Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS, Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Wear OS
3one sec7.5No$1.67/moYes———
4Opal7.4Free plan$8.29/moYes———
5FocusMe7.3No—Yes—5 devices—
6Hikage7.1Free planFreeYes—2 devicesmacOS
7ScreenZen7.1Free planFreeYes———
8YourHour7.1Free plan$1.08/moYes——iOS, Android, Android TV
9ManicTime7.0No$7/moYes7 /user/mo——
10AppBlock6.9Free planFreeYes———
11Apple Screen Time6.8Free planFreeYes———
12Focusly6.8Free planFreeYes——Windows, macOS, Chrome extension
13Lock Me Out6.8Free planFreeYes——Android
14RescueTime6.7No$7/moYes———
15Deskly6.6Free planFreeYes——Windows
16Google Digital Wellbeing6.6Free planFreeYes——Android
17SmartBreak6.6No—No——Windows, macOS
18ActionDash6.5No—Yes——Android
19Screen Time6.5No—Yes—5 devices—
20ActivityWatch6.3No—Yes———
21FacePause6.3No————macOS 11 and later; Intel and Apple Silicon
22Timing6.3No—No—1 devicesmacOS, web app, iPhone/iPad Screen Time import
23Rize6.1No—No9.99 /user/mo—macOS, Windows
24Focusd5.8No—Yes——Windows 10/11
25Roots5.8No—Yes——iOS

Is your tool on this list?

Numbered spots on this list can be sponsored, and a sponsored row is labelled as paid.

Questions about this list

Which screen time management app is ranked first on Specifiction?

Freedom is ranked #1 of 36 with a score of 7.9. StayFree is second and one sec third.

How many of these have a free plan?

12 of the 25 on this page publish a free plan on their own pricing pages.

Which is the cheapest paid option?

On this page, Freedom has the lowest first paid tier we found: $0.28/mo.

How is this list ranked?

Ranked on what each maker publishes, the fullest spec sheet first: how deeply the product is documented, the platforms it runs on, a free tier or trial to test it, and its standing.

More in Productivity

All productivity lists